MTAG Football

More Than A Game Football

EFL League Two

English Football League Two
Sky Bet League Two (sponsorship reasons)
England (23 teams)
Wales ( 1 team)
Number of teams
Level on pyramid
Promotion to
EFL League One
Relegation to
National League


The English Football League Two (often referred to as League Two for short or Sky Bet League Two for sponsorship reasons) is the third and lowest division of the English Football League (EFL) and fourth-highest division overall in the English football league system.

Football League Two was introduced for the 2004–05 season. It was previously known as the Football League Third Division. Before the advent of the Premier League in 1992, the fourth-highest division was known as the Football League Fourth Division.

There are 24 clubs in League Two. Each club plays each of the other clubs twice (once at home, once away) and is awarded three points for a win, one for a draw and no points for a loss. From these points a league table is constructed.

At the end of each season the top three teams, together with the winner of the play-offs between the teams which finished in the fourth to seventh positions, are promoted to EFL League One and are replaced by the four teams that finished at the bottom of that division.

Standings last season

Champions: Cheltenham Town FC

Promoted: Cheltenham Town FC, Cambridge United FC, Bolton Wanderers FC, Morecambe FC

Relegated:  Grimsby Town FC, Southend United FC

Clubs 2021-2022

Barrow AFC
Bradford City AFC
Bristol Rovers FC
Carlisle United FC
Colchester United FC
Crawley Town FC
Exeter City FC
Forest Green Rovers FC
Harrogate Town AFC
Hartlepool United FC
Leyton Orient FC
Mansfield Town FC
Newport County AFC
Northampton Town FC
Oldham Athletic AFC
Port Vale FC
Rochdale AFC
Salford City FC
Scunthorpe United FC
Stevenage FC
Sutton United FC
Swindon Town FC
Tranmere Rovers FC
Walsall FC

%d bloggers like this: