MTAG Football

More Than A Game Football

EFL League One

English Football League One
Sky Bet League One (sponsorship reasons)
England (24 teams)
Number of teams
Level on pyramid
Promotion to
EFL Championship
Relegation to
EFL League Two


English Football League One (often referred to as League One for short or Sky Bet League One for sponsorship reasons) is the second-highest division of the English Football League and the third tier overall in the entire English football league system.

League One was introduced for the 2004–05 season. It was previously known briefly as the Football League Second Division and for much longer, prior to the advent of the Premier League, as the Football League Third Division.

There are 24 clubs in League One (though there are currently 23, due to the explusion of Bury FC). Each club plays every other club twice (once at home and once away). Three points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and zero for a loss. At the end of the season a table of the final League standings is determined, based on the following criteria in this order: points obtained, goal difference, goals scored, an aggregate of the results between two or more clubs (ranked using the previous three criteria) and, finally, a series of one or more play-off matches.

At the end of each season the top two clubs, together with the winner of the play-offs between the clubs which finished in 3rd–6th position, are promoted to EFL Championship and are replaced by the three clubs that finished at the bottom of that division.

Standings last season

Champions: Hull City AFC

Promoted: Hull City AFC, Peterborough United FC, Blackpool FC

Relegated: Rochdale AFC, Northampton Town FC, Swindon Town FC, Bristol Rovers FC

Clubs 2021-2022

Accrington Stanley FC
AFC Wimbledon
Bolton Wanderers FC
Burton Albion FC
Cambridge United FC
Charlton Athletic FC
Cheltenham Town FC
Crewe Alexandra FC
Doncaster Rovers FC
Fleetwood Town FC
Gillingham FC
Ipswich Town FC
Lincoln City FC
Milton Keynes Dons FC
Morecambe FC
Oxford United FC
Plymouth Argyle FC
Portsmouth FC
Rotherham United FC
Sheffield Wednesday FC
Shrewsbury Town FC
Sunderland AFC
Wigan Athletic FC
Wycombe Wanderers FC

%d bloggers like this: